//
you're reading...
Seafood Recipes

Shrimp Curry with Coconut Milk

Ingredients:

1 lb large shrimp [28 count] – divined & cleaned

1 medium size onion – finely chopped

3 large Garlic cloves – minced [can use garlic presser

1 inch cube fresh Ginger – grated

1/2 cup fresh green Coriander – chopped

20 whole Fenugreek seeds – Methi seeds

½ teaspoon Turmeric

2 teaspoon ground Red Cayenne Pepper

2 teaspoon Garam Masala

½ cup Coconut Milk

¼ cup Vegetable oil

¼ cup water

1 teaspoon salt or according to your taste

Directions:

Heat oil in a flat pan/deep flat skillet over medium heat for a minute or two minutes.

When hot add fenugreek seeds – give a good stir.

Immediately add garlic – stir.

Immediately, add onion, continue to heat these ingredients for two more minutes – stir occasionally.

Add garam masala – stir, now add red cayenne pepper – stir well.

Continue heating ingredients for one and half minutes – stir occasionally.

Now add coconut milk and give a good stir. Immediately after the stir add water and stir again to mix the ingredients. Add salt. Continue heating these ingredients for another three minutes.

Add shrimp – stir well.

A minute later add freshly chopped green coriander. Stir the ingredients.

Simmer the ingredients for another 1 ½ to 2 minutes, then turn the heat off.

Goes well with bread, chapaties, parathas, and rice.

Serves 4.

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

One thought on “Shrimp Curry with Coconut Milk

  1. I love curries and anything with coconut milk and served with rice. Will definitely try your recipe.

    Posted by Malou Prestado | January 2, 2012, 8:38 pm

Thank you for your comments.

