//
you're reading...
Vegetable Recipes

Bhindi – Stir Fried Okra

Bhindi

Bhindi – Stir Fried Okra

1 lb fresh Okra – cut into 1/4 “ thick pieces

1 large onion – cut into small pieces
3 medium large garlic cloves – minced
6 dried cocum fruit skins [aamsool] – optional

1/8 teaspoon turmeric
1 1/2 teaspoon red pepper
1/8 teaspoon black mustard seeds
1/4 teaspoon cumin seeds

1 ½ teaspoon brown sugar [or Indian gool]
½ teaspoon salt or according your taste.

1 Tablespoon fresh coconut – shredded [optional]
1/3 cup green coriander [cilantro] – chopped

1/3 cup vegetable oil

Heat oil in a pan over medium high heat for 1 to 2 minutes – till oil is hot.

Add cumin and black mustard seeds.
Immediately add garlic and stir.
Add chopped onion stir well.
Then add turmeric.
Stir the contents for one minute.
Add brown sugar – give a good stir.
Add chopped Okra. Give a good stir.

Lower the heat to medium and continue heating contents for 5 minutes.
Stir periodically to prevent contents from burning and sticking to the pan.

Lower the heat to low and continue heating for another 5 minutes. Stir occasionally.

Garnish the contents with dried shredded coconut and green coriander. (optional)

Serve with Chapattis [flat bread] and Rice with Daal.
Serves 4.

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Bhindi – Stir Fried Okra

  1. This is very good. Do you have a recipe for vegetable fritters?

    Posted by Arvind | January 19, 2014, 11:15 pm

Thank you for your comments.

