//
you're reading...
Vegetable Recipes

Chickpeas in Spicy Sauce

Chickpeas in Spicy Sauce
Serves 4

Spicy Chickpeas

Poories & Chickpeas in Spicy Sauce

1 cup raw chickpeas – soak overnight in two cups of water
or canned Chickpeas [drained]

1 medium size Onion – chopped
1 medium size Tomato – chopped
2 medium size Garlic cloves – minced
1/2 inch cube fresh Ginger – minced

1/8 teaspoon Turmeric
1 teaspoon Chili powder (Red Pepper)
1 teaspoon Garam Masala (Spice mix powder)

1/8 teaspoon Mustard seeds
1/8 teaspoon Cumin seeds

2 tablespoon Tomato sauce
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1 cup Water
1/4 cup Vegetable oil
2 Tablespoon chopped Cilantro

Cook/boil soaked chickpeas in 2 cups of water for ten minutes or till tender. Set them aside.

Heat up oil over the medium high heat for one minute.
Add mustard seeds and cumin seeds.
Once seeds start to sizzle add turmeric, chili powder, garam masala. Stir.
Add garlic and onion. Stir well for half minute.
Add ginger and tomato. Give a good stir. Cover the pot and continue cooking for another five minutes. Stir occasionally.
Add tomato sauce and cook for 2 more minutes.
Add one cup of water and cook the contents for another five minutes or till all the ingredients are pureed.
Add cooked chickpeas to the pureed sauce. Stir well.
Add salt and continue cooking for five minutes.
Garnish the contends with chopped cilantro. Add Cilantro for garnish.

Serve with poories/naan/parathas/bhatura, or bread slices.

Fried Poories

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Thank you for your comments.

