//
you're reading...
Rice Recipes

Tindora Rice

Rice and Tindora vegetable are cooked separately and then mixed together.

Tindora Vegetable:
Ingredients:

15 fresh Tindoras
2 large onions – sliced [1/4 inch thick]

1/2 teaspoon Turmeric
1/2 Tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon Garam masala

1/3 Cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon fresh cilantro – chopped.

Preparation for Tindora:
Slice off about 1/8 inch from both ends.
Then cut each Tindoras, lengthwise, into four equal parts.

Rice:
Ingredients:
3 Cups Basmati rice.[ or a long grain rice]

2 Cinnamon sticks [each 2 inch long]
10 Whole Cloves
12 crushed cardamom seeds
1 Tablespoon butter
1 teaspoon salt

Method:
Cook rice with water adding cloves, cinnamon sticks, crushed cardamom, butter, and salt.

Simultaneously you can prepare Tindora veggie mix.

Method for Tindora:
Heat the oil in a large pan over a medium high heat, for a minute.
Add sliced onions, then turmeric to the pan and give a good stir.
Continue to stir occasionally until the onions start to turn light brown.
Add Chilli powder, garam masala. Stir for half a minute.
Add sliced Tindoras and salt. Stir the ingredients well.
Cover the pan and continue to cook the ingredients for another 2 minutes. Remove the cover.
You will see oil being released from the ingredients in the pan.
Add chopped cilantro. Stir the ingredients well.

Mix Rice with Tindora:
Now add cooked rice to the Tindoras mixture and mix it well.
Place the rice into a serving ball.

Serves 6.

Tip:
Rinse rice 2/3 times to remove starch. That also helps separate rice grains when cooked.

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Thank you for your comments.

