//
you're reading...
Appetizers

Onion Fritters [Bahji/Pakodas]

Onion Fritters
[Bhaji/Pakodas]

1 cup Chickpea flour [Besan flour]

2 large size onions – sliced

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
1/4 teaspoon red chili powder
1/4 teaspoon turmeric

2 medium long hot green chilies – finely chopped
2 Tablespoon fresh Cilantro leaves – finely chopped

1 1/2 teaspoon Salt
1/16 teaspoon baking soda

1/3 cup of water.

3 to 4 cups Vegetable oil for deep frying

Optional:
A pinch of Ajwain seeds (Owa) [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trachyspermum_ammi]

Method:
Place sliced onions in a medium size bowl.
Add all ingredients except Chickpea flour [Besan flour] and the baking soda.
Stir a few times and mix these ingredients well.

Add/toss Chickpea flour [Besan flour] over these ingredients.
Sprinkle baking soda over the flour.
Stir and mix well all of these ingredients.

Add water gradually, to avoid lumps from forming stir and mix well each time you add water.
Set this mix aside.

Deep Frying:
Heat vegetable oil over the medium high heat for 1 to 2 minutes or till hot.
Using soup size spoon scoop up onions with the batter and fry these fritters.
Depending upon the size of your deep frying pan, fry about 6 to 8 fritters at a time.
Fry each batch for about 2 minutes or till the fritters turn golden brown.
Turn the fritters every 1/2 minutes to make sure that they are fried from both/all sides.

Goes well with hot green chutney.

Serves: 4

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Thank you for your comments.

