//
you're reading...
Appetizers

Potato Fritter [Aaloo Pakoda/Bhaji]

Potato Fritters
[Aaloo Pakoda/Bhaji]

2 large size, long russet potatoes – very thinly sliced [width-wise].

Batter ingredients:
1 1/4 cup Chickpea flour [Besan flour]
1/8 teaspoon turmeric
1/3 teaspoon red chili powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
2 long hot green chilies – finely chopped
2 Tablespoon fresh Cilantro leaves – finely chopped
1 1/2 teaspoon Salt
a pinch of baking soda

1/2 cup of water.

Deep Frying:
3 to 4 cups Vegetable oil for deep frying

Method:
Set sliced potatoes aside for deep frying. Do not mix it to the batter.

Batter:
Add all batter ingredients including except water to a bowl and mix it well.

Add water gradually, to avoid lumps from forming, stir using whisk each time you add water.
Ensure that the mix is not too thick.
Set this mix aside.

Deep Frying:
Heat vegetable oil over the medium high heat for 1 to 2 minutes or till hot.
Using tongs dip each sliced potato in the batter and drop carefully in the hot oil.
Depending upon the size of your deep frying pan, fry about 6 to 8 fritters at a time.
Fry each batch for about 1 to 2 minutes or till the fritters turn golden brown.
Turn sides of the fritters to make sure that they are fried from both sides.

Goes well with hot green pepper chutney and/or tomato ketchup.

Serves: 4

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

One thought on “Potato Fritter [Aaloo Pakoda/Bhaji]

  1. Reblogged this on Eastern Herbs and commented:

    Thank you. Glad you liked it Nandini.

    Posted by prabhatjadhav | March 6, 2014, 4:33 pm

Thank you for your comments.

