//
you're reading...
Daal/Soup

Garlic Lentils [Garlic Daal]

Garlic Daal

1 cup Masoor daal [Split Salmon Color Lentils]

2 fresh green hot peppers – slit lengthwise
4 large fresh garlic cloves – crushed
1 medium size fresh tomato – pureed
4 curry leaves [optional]

1/8 teaspoon black mustard seeds
1/8 teaspoon cumin seeds
1/8 teaspoon ground turmeric
1/2 teaspoon red chilly powder
a pinch of asafetida [optional]

1 teaspoon fresh coriander leaves – chopped

3 Table spoon vegetable oil

1 1/2 teaspoon brown sugar [Jaggery or Gool]
2 teaspoon salt

Boil Daal:
Boil daal in 8 cups of water for about 45 minutes.

Tomato Puree:
Boil three cups of water.
Put tomato in the boiled water for about two minutes – make sure tomato is fully submerged.
Remove tomato skin and puree it in a mixer. And set it aside.

Tadka:
Tadka is tempering technique used in releasing the flavors from spices in a hot oil.

Heat vegetable oil in a saucepan over medium heat for about 1 minute or till hot.
Add cumin and black mustards seed.
As soon as mustard seeds start to pop, add crushed garlic, hot green peppers, asafetida.
Give a good stir and immediately add pureed tomato. Stir the ingredients well.
Add curry leaves. Give a good stir.

A minute later, add turmeric and red pepper. Stir well.

Continue to heat the ingredients for about three minutes.
You will see oil released from all sides in the pot.

Now add cooked daal to the pan and stir well.
Add brown sugar and salt. Stir well.

Cook the ingredients for another 8 minutes to a medium thick consistency.
Add/sprinkle chopped cilantro. Mix well.

Serve over rice.

Serves: 4

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Garlic Lentils [Garlic Daal]

  1. Hi, I have been cooking your Daal fo a while now. It is absolutely fantastic.
    I eat it almost every day. I can’t wait to try your other receipts.

    Posted by Debby | April 18, 2014, 11:37 pm

Thank you for your comments.

