//
you're reading...
Raitas & Salads

Khamang Kakadi/Cucumber

Khamang Kakadi/Cucumber

image

1 large Seedless Cucumber
2 Tablespoon Roasted Crushed Peanuts
1 small Hot Green Pepper – very finely chopped
1/2 cup Plain Yogurt

1/2 teaspoon Sugar
1/2 teaspoon Salt

Ingredients for “Tadka”:
1/16 teaspoon Turmeric
1/8 teaspoon Cumin seeds
1/8 teaspoon Black Mustard Seeds
a small pinch of Asafetida
2 medium size Curry Leaves / Kadi Patta [optional]
1 teaspoon vegetable oil

Garnish:
1 teaspoon chopped Cilantro

A pinch of Paprika or red chili powder – optional.

Method:
Peel cucumber skin and dice it in small pieces

In a bowl, mix diced Cucumber, crushed peanuts, finely chopped hot green pepper, sugar and salt.
Stir the ingredients and set it aside.

Heat oil over medium heat for one minute or till hot.
Add black mustard seeds, cumin seeds, and asafetida.
When seeds start to sizzle turn off the heat,
Immediately add turmeric and curry leaves [kadi-patta].
Immediately pour it over cucumber mix and give a good stir.

Garnish the mixture with chopped cilantro and mix well.
Sprinkle paprika/red chili powder over the mixture.

Goes well with hot and spicy dishes. Capsaicin is an active component of chili peppers.
Yogurt is cool, it absorbs and soothes the burning sensation produced by the capsaicin.

Serves: 4

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Thank you for your comments.

