//
you're reading...
Breakfast/Brunch

Kande Pohe

Kande Pohe

image
Cooking time: 5 to 6 minutes.

Ingredients:
3 cups of Pohe (Flattened/Pounded rice)
1 medium large onion – chopped into small pieces
2 long hot green chili peppers – chopped
1 small tomato – chopped (Half a cup)
1 small potato – cut into small thin sliced pieces

4 Tablespoons peanuts
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon Salt
1/3 cup Vegetable oil

Tadka/Fodni:
1/4 teaspoon Turmeric
1/8 teaspoon Cumin seeds
1/8 teaspoon Black Mustard seeds
A pinch of asafetida (optional)

Garnish:
1/3 cup Coconut – grated (Fresh coconut preferred)
1/4 cup Cilantro – chopped
Mix these two garnish ingredients together in a bowl and set it aside.

Method:
Rinse the Pohe (Flattened/Pounded rice) with water and set them aside in a colander. Note: squeeze hard to take the water out of the rinsed pohe before using them.

Heat oil in a sauté pan over a medium high heat for a half a minute or till hot.

Add cumin seeds, mustard seeds to the oil, as soon as seeds start to sputter,
add onion, chillies, potato, a pinch of asafetida and give a good stir.

Add turmeric, stir. Cover the pot.
Half a minute later, add chopped tomatoes and cover the pot. Stir the ingredients well.
Cook the ingredients for another minute.

Remove the cover, add peanuts, stir. Stir. Cook it for another minute.

Add rinsed pohe to the pan. Stir well. Add salt and sugar. Stir.
Lower the heat, cover the pot and heat the ingredients for another minute.

Squeeze a piece of lime/lemon over the individual serving of pohe, then add/sprinkle garnish over it.

Serves: 4

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Thank you for your comments.

