//
you're reading...
Breakfast/Brunch

Soojie Halwaa [Sheera]

Soojie Halwa (Sheera)

Soojie Halwaa

Ingredients:
1 cup Farina [Soojie / Rawa]

5 Tablespoon butter (Sticks)
1 ripe banana (medium size) – mashed
14 raisins (black or golden)
1/4 teaspoon finely crushed Cardamom seeds (Optional)
A pinch of Nutmeg powder

6 small strands of Saffron
1 Tablespoon milk

2 Tablespoon sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt.

1/3 cup water.

Method:

First soak about five strands of saffron in one tablespoon of milk and set it aside for 5 minutes.

Heat up pan for half a minute over medium heat.
Add butter and continue to heat for another minute or so.
Till it becomes clarified butter.

Add farina [also called Soojie/Rawa] and roast it for 3 minutes. Stir constantly.
Add one mashed banana, followed by raisins. Give a good stir.
Add sugar, salt, and saffron soaked milk.. Mix the ingredients well.
.
Continue to stir the ingredients for one minute. It will lump together.
Add water. Stir and cover the pot.
And continue to heat for three minute. Stir occasionally.

Sprinkle finely crushed cardamom and a pinch of nutmeg over cooked farina.

Serves: 4

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Thank you for your comments.

