//
you're reading...
Spice Mixes/Masala

Sambar Powder for Toor Daal [Lentils]

Sambar Masala By Prabhat

Roasting ingredients:
1/2 teaspoon Rice grains

1/2 teaspoon Toor daal [yellow]
1 teaspoon Urad lentils
1 teaspoon split Chickpea lentils [split chana daal]

1/2 teaspoon whole Coriander seeds
1/2 teaspoon Cumin seeds
5 Black Pepper corns
1 long dried Red Pepper [de-seeded]

1/8 teaspoon Black Mustard seeds
1/8 teaspoon Fenugreek seeds

2 Curry leaves [Kadi-patta leaves].

Spices to be added after grinding:
1/4 teaspoon Turmeric
A pinch of Asafoetida powder [Hing]

Method:
Dry roast the roasting ingredients in a frying pan over the medium medium heat [for about 3 minutes], till the spices give out its aroma.

Let the ingredients cool off, then blend it in a small grinder to a smooth powder and set it aside.

Add turmeric and asafoetida to the above powder and mix well.

Makes about 3 Tablespoons of Sambar Masala powder.

Back to Toor Daal Sambar: https://easternherbs.wordpress.com/2015/09/16/toor-lentil-sambar/

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Thank you for your comments.

