//
you're reading...
Daal/Soup

Kadhi

Kadhi

Kadhi

Ingredients:
2 cups Plain Yogurt

2 Tablespoons Chopped Onions
2 medium whole Garlic cloves – crushed
1/4 inch fresh Ginger – thinly sliced
2 medium Hot Green Chilies – slit in the middle

teaspoon Clarified Butter (Ghee) [or 2 teaspoon Vegetable oil]

1/2 teaspoon Salt (or according to your taste)
1/2 teaspoon Sugar

1 Tablespoon Cilantro – chopped

Tempering (Tadka) ingredients:

1/8 teaspoon Cumin Seeds.
1/8 teaspoon Black Mustard Seeds
1/8 teaspoon Turmeric
A Pinch of Asafetida
5 Curry Leaves [Kadipatta]
2 teaspoon vegetable oil

Method:
Stir and mix Plain Yogurt using electric hand mixer for up to 30 seconds or until it forms lump-free smooth consistency. Add salt and sugar to it, stir and mix well, and set it aside.

Heat oil in a medium large size sauté pan for about 1 minute or till hot.
Add black mustard and cumin seeds to the pan.
When seeds start to sputter, add crushed whole garlic cloves, curry leaves (Kadipatta) and chopped onions. Add turmeric.
Give a couple of stirs and turn the heat off.

Pour electric hand mixer stirred plain yogurt in the pan. Keep stirring when adding the plain yogurt to the sauce pan.

Note: Do not boil the “Kadhi”.

Sprinkle chopped cilantro. Stir and mix well.

Serves: 4. Goes well with plain rice.

About prabhatjadhav

I am a food enthusiast and I love to cook. It is a relaxing experience for me. I have created my own Spice Mixtures [Curry Powder] and have tried in my recipes to add tasty effect. I like to make an Indian cooking a simple, easy to prepare, fun but healthy and flavorful experience. Don't just take my word for it. I invite you to try my recipes and give me you honest feedback. I am always looking to improve my techniques. More to come...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Thank you for your comments.

